Meet the Cast: Erika Eiffel

Erika Eiffel: “OS relationships are not cakewalk and there exists a great deal of complexity and tangled heartstrings.”

Erica paris 2 copy

Originally when I was contacted by Real to Reel, I was very pleased the topic of OS garnered interest from a well-known Canadian film team. Media is far reaching with the ability to enter into the private spheres of those believing they are alone. I saw this as an opportunity to raise more awareness for our cause and I was content to be the consultant helping the team arrange interviews with members of the OS Internationale community, which I have moderated for nearly 10 years.

Objectum-Sexuality Internationale logo

Objectum-Sexuality Internationale logo

However, when they proposed I take part in the film as well, I was not so keen. Having been exploited by a documentary production several years ago, I was very reluctant to once again bare my soul for fear of further skewing the image of OS and perhaps raising more misconceptions towards our significant connections with objects.

Erica paris 1 copy

My relationship with the Eiffel Tower has been punished and strained for 6 years while trying to clear up fallout, and in this condition I did not feel I could contribute any value to the film. Yet the director [Bill Spahic] felt otherwise. He impressed upon me that the world needs to see that OS relationships are not cakewalk and there exists a great deal of complexity and tangled heartstrings. OS people do not simply choose a convenient object they can control and live happily ever after.

The reality is … Love is not a decision. It is an evolution in the heart.

After some soul searching I agreed to take part and it was indeed a painful experience as my heartache was tested and laid open for the world to see. On our first day of filming in Paris, the Eiffel Tower authorities refused to let me visit the Tower; it was also the anniversary of our commitment ceremony. I had been barred from seeing my love. The reality is … Love is not a decision. It is an evolution in the heart.

I walked away from the whole filming experience realizing I had indeed lost my battle to win back my greatest love, the Eiffel Tower, but I also grew stronger from facing it all. In that way my heart has been able to go about its very illogical way and find new love.

IMG_5945 copy

Erika creates and maintains art installations with remnants of the Berlin Wall, as a way of honouring her love and commitment

6 thoughts on “Meet the Cast: Erika Eiffel

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update: Read, Like, Share (August 27, 2013) | peoplewholoveobjects

  2. Pingback: Erika Eiffel Answers FAQs on OS (Part 1) | peoplewholoveobjects

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update: Read, Like, Share (September 4, 2013) | peoplewholoveobjects

  4. Pingback: Meet the Cast: Carl | peoplewholoveobjects

  5. Pingback: Meet the Cast: Amanda | peoplewholoveobjects

  6. Pingback: Tea Time with Davecat: Shouting to Hear the Echoes (Part Two) | Womancipation Proclamation

Leave a Reply

